NOT SAFE FOR WEDNESDAY!

OLD SKULL
GET OUTTA SCHOOL

RESTLESS RECORDS – 1989

 

The backstory: In 1989 I spent most of my free time in the basement of a local hooligan/petty thief who bought records/tapes/cd’s by the hundreds, no joke. Anything he could steal and resell was fair game no matter who it belonged to and every penny went to the local record store, it was psychotic. This album turned up in a HUGE pile of punk rock tapes Mr Demeanor came home with one afternoon. Two brothers (8 and 12 years old) and another schoolmate about the same age playing two-chord punk rock and screaming at the top of theirs about Reagan, homelessness, AIDS, hot dog vendors, and a whole host of other targets. Hearing “Homeless” for the first time was one of the finer moments of my life, I still play it for people to this day. The band (with a different drummer) recorded a second album in 1992 called C.I.A. Drug Fest. Both albums have been out of print for decades but occasionally turn up on eBay. I recommend you buy both, burn 10 copies of each, and give them away. I command thee! I have included the link to “Pizza Man” from their second album as well. There is video on Youtube of them performing in Madison, Wisconsin in 1992. Punk rock at it’s finest!

I won’t go into too much detail here, but the backstory on the brothers in this band is REALLY sad. If you dig around the ‘net the details are out there but don’t say I didn’t warn you. I loved both of these records to death and it is a shame that life circumstances screwed these kids at every turn. They made good records; They should have made more.
WS

Published by

Whizabee Sunshine

A lifetime music acquirer / listener / discusser-er. 6000 + recordings on various formats at our disposal / for our amusement. Let's dig, you dig?

Leave a comment