FREEBIE FRIDAY

HE MINUTEMEN – LIVE
11/15/1985 – SAFARI SAM’S
HUNTINGTON BEACH, CALIFORNIA

https://archive.org/details/minutemen1985-11-15.shnf

This show surfaced for the first time tonight; I found another upload from 11/30/1985 but it was incomplete and at the wrong tape speed so this performance from two weeks earlier is presented for your dancing pleasure. If you’re a Minutemen fan, I’m sure you have already calculated how many days and hours this show occurred before the end (I did); If you’re hearing them for the first time, I urge you to take in all this show has to offer before delving into the history. In this case, ignorance is truly bliss, if only for an hour or two. It is a hell of a show, recorded surprisingly well by some enterprising young fan. The vocals are a little low but lean in a bit and you’ll get the drift.

The set list has a really good cross section of old/new/original/cover material and everybody is at the peak of their power here. I was surprised at the dynamic shifts throughout the set; Early on they bring the volume way down and the crowd is silent, everyone is listening and digging the music intently. I regret that I never got to see them live; I regret more that nobody else got to see them live not long after this was recorded. Fate is a cruel bitch, but Watt and Georgie stormed back mightily despite having their whole world ripped away from them in one moment.

I am on my second swing through this recording and I suspect it will be played much more in the days to come. I hope it means as much to you in the future as it does to me right now.
START YOUR BANDS!

WS

Published by

Whizabee Sunshine

A lifetime music acquirer / listener / discusser-er. 6000 + recordings on various formats at our disposal / for our amusement. Let's dig, you dig?

Leave a comment